SmugMug's AppleTV app

Updated -

SmugMug has an AppleTV app, and it can be found in the iTunes App Store on your Apple TV (the App Store is only available on 4th-generation Apple TV's or later). Search for “SmugMug,” then click “Get” to download the SmugMug app.


When you first open the SmugMug app on your AppleTV, you’ll see featured SmugMug Films and amazing photos from some of our customers. Navigate to any film or photo you’d like to view using your AppleTV remote, and click it to have it fill your TV screen. Click again to play a film, or press the Menu button to exit full-screen view.

You also have the option to view any SmugMug account and "bookmark" it on your Following screen. You don’t need to be logged in to follow and search for SmugMug customers. Press the Menu button on your remote to reveal the app menu bar, then navigate to the Following menu item and select it.

Press or swipe down on your remote to highlight the “Search for People” button, then click to select it. Enter the full name or nickname of the Smugger whose photos you'd like to view. You can also hold down the Siri button and speak your search term, too. If there’s a match, we'll display their Bio photo and nickname on your Following screen. Select it and then select the “Follow” button that appears in their header image.

Made a mistake? Select the profile you want to delete on your Following page, and then select "Unfollow" on the user’s header image.

Add as many accounts as you like simply by repeating the steps above! Click the bio photo with your friend’s name to view all folders and galleries accessible by Everyone (public) on their site. Select any folder or gallery to explore it.

Within a gallery, swipe up or down to navigate photos in the gallery. Select any thumbnail to view it as large as your television allows, or as large as the photographer has permitted in their gallery settings.

Note: If a gallery is set with a viewing password, or has been privately shared with you, you won’t be able to browse it with the SmugMug TV app. Logging in will display these galleries only if you’re browsing your own photos.

Back to top

Play a slideshow

To play a slideshow, use your AppleTV remote to navigate to the first photo you want to view, then click “Play” on your AppleTV remote. A slideshow of all photos in a gallery will begin playing full screen on your television, starting with the first image you selected.

If you click the AppleTV remote button to view a photo, you can click “Play” on your remote to start playing a slideshow, too. To pause, press the “Play/Pause” button again.

Back to top

Log in

Want to view your own photos? You can browse them following the Browse steps above, or you can log in and fill your Featured screen with your own photos!

If you want to log in, tap the Menu button on your remote and select My Photos.

Use your AppleTV remote to enter your login information, then select the “Login” button once you’re done entering that info.

Logging in allows you to skip entering your viewing passwords and to view your unlisted galleries.

To log out of your account, navigate to the Settings menu item and select it. Swipe or press down on your remote to highlight the Sign Out option and select it. You’ll be signed out of your SmugMug account instantly!

Back to top

Watch videos

Your movies can be viewed full-screen on your television! Swipe through your galleries to find the movie you want to watch, then press the “Play/Pause” button on your Apple TV remote. The video will begin to play full screen.

You can also select the video by tapping on its thumbnail, which will fill the screen with your video’s thumbnail image. Tap the select button on your AppleTV again to begin playing your movie.

To close the full-screen view, tap the Menu button on your remote.

Back to top

About the menu bar

The menu bar gives you access to SmugMug’s featured content (like SmugMug Films and star images from some of our customers), your own photos, the photos of friends or family you follow, and the app settings.

Back to top


Access your settings any time by selecting Settings from the menu bar.

Your Settings allow you to do the following:

  • See which version of the SmugMug app you’re running.
  • Set how long a photo displays during a slideshow. You can choose between 2, 3, 4, 5, 10, and 20 seconds.
  • Log out of your account.

Back to top

Can't find what you're looking for?

Our Support Heroes are ready to help!

Contact Us