Change my subscription plan

Updated -

Upgrade

If your plan level doesn't quite suit your style, visit your Account Settings and find something better.  You can upgrade your plan at any time in your Account Settings > Me > Subscription tab. There is a "Change Plan" button there that will take you to the upgrade page.

For upgrade charges, you'll pay only the prorated difference and keep your original renewal date.

Downgrade

You can downgrade any time in your Account Settings > Me > Subscription tab. There is a "Change Plan" button there that will take you to the downgrade page.

Note that this process will result in paring down the features available to you, based on where you're coming from and where you're going. Visit our Features chart to see a list of what comes with each plan, just so you're ready.

Did You Know: We'll automatically apply the unused portion of your subscription fee to your account as renewal credit.

Leaving the Business or Portfolio level?

If you've accrued any pro profits, we'll pay them out to you during the next payment cycle as long as you have an accurate W-9 form filed with us. 

Business and Portfolio customers: Any watermarks you've applied to your photos will automatically be removed if you're downgrading to the Power or Basic accounts. Watermarks cannot be added again after you downgrade.

We also suggest:

  • If you're using an Assistant Password, it won't work after the downgrade. Be sure to let your assistants know. 

Going to Basic?

1.  Be sure to remove your custom domain from the Account Settings > Me > Account tab. If you don't do this, fans who visit your old URL won't be able to find your website. Your SmugMug URL (nickname.smugmug.com) always works.

2.  Password protect any galleries you don't want the public to see. The advanced image-protection features  (like watermarking and right-click protection) are not available on the Basic account.

3. Please note that the Basic level does not offer customization beyond the homepage, so any customizations you've made at the Power or higher levels will be removed. 

Can't find what you're looking for?

Our Support Heroes are ready to help!

Contact Us