How do I set gallery, page, and folder privacy settings?

Updated: Apr 03, 2014 10:57AM PDT

This page is for the New SmugMug.  Click here for help on Legacy SmugMug.  

SmugMug gives you three different types of privacy options that you can apply to any Gallery, Page, or Folder on your site. They are:    

  • Everyone (Public)

  • Anyone with the Link (Unlisted)

  • Only Me (Private)

Additionally, you can add a viewing password to any public or an unlisted Gallery/Page/Folder.

To access them, find the Privacy in your Organizer, highlight the gallery you want and then click the Settings button. You'll see the Security and Privacy tab on the left.

Anyone with the Link (Unlisted): Hidden from the public

Galleries accessibly by Anyone with the Link aren't visible on your SmugMug homepage and aren't included in search engines. The only way someone can view them is if you (the site owner) give them the direct link. When you do that, it'll look something like this:

The random scramble of numbers and letters at the end of that link is the "key" that's required to be able to open the unlisted gallery. Without it, we'll just redirect them to the closest public location: subcategory, category, or your homepage.

Similar to an unlisted phone number, there is a VERY small (one in more-than-a-million) chance someone could just type in the right digits and stumble across your gallery. So, you can use additional security options described below for more protection.

As the logged-in owner, you'll always know whether or not your gallery accessible by Anyone with the Link because we show the status at the top of the page. For example, this gallery is for Anyone with the Link:



We'll also show the privacy status of Folders, Galleries, and Pages any time you're looking at a thumbnail around your site or when you're in the site-wide Organizer:

Tip: Want your galleries to be public, but still kept out of search engines like Google? Check your Site Visibility settings.

Passworded: Locked with a secret password

Password-protected galleries require visitors to enter a password to see the photos inside. These galleries also won't display any of the social-sharing options.

You can mix and match your passworded galleries with other security options, so for example, you can make your gallery accesible by Everyone + passworded or even accesible by Anyone with the Link + passworded gallery. If you choose the former, the gallery won't show up in SmugMug's search and Google will know that they exist, but can't look inside. 


Important note about passwords:  SmugMug does NOT store your gallery passwords in any way that could be leaked (we use an industrial-grade one-way hash), so we recommend that you fill in the "Password Reminder" field to help jog your memory if you think you - or your client - will forget. For your extremely important photos that you never want shared, we highly suggest that you don't use password reminders at all. Here are great tips on how to create strong passwords.

You're covered: When our systems detect several incorrect attempts at entering a gallery password, we'll notify you by email about what's going on. The email will tell you which gallery it is and provide additional details about the location and time that these passwords are being entered.

We'll only show a generic "lock" icon as the gallery thumbnail to protect your content, but you can choose a featured photo to select a different image to represent the gallery on your site. 
 

Tip: You can secure your entire SmugMug site with a password, too, and protect yourself from the bottom up.


Only Me (Private): Seen only by you

Galleries/Pages/Folders accessible by Only Me are completely private. They can ONLY be seen, found, and browsed by the logged-in owner of the site. We don't recommend that you use this setting if you're sharing the gallery with anyone, period. 

Frequently Asked Questions

Q:I want to set one password for a folder of galleries.

A: Easy Peasy! Use a Folder Password.

Q: Why doesn't my password-protected gallery require a password anymore?

A: For convenience, SmugMug remembers that you are authorized to visit a gallery once you have correctly entered the password. You can revisit the gallery, provided you do so on the same computer, for 24 hours without having to enter it again. Anyone who visits the gallery for the first time, however, will be asked for the password even if you're not.

Q: How can I share multiple unlisted or passworded galleries from different folders at once?

A: Sharegroups

Q: I want to set one password for a group of galleries.

A: You can set a folder password that will apply to the galleries inside.  

Q: How can I share multiple unlisted or passworded galleries at once?

A: With Sharegroups. You can even set one password for multiple galleries this way.

Q: Ack! I forgot a gallery's password!

A: To see a password, simply follow the steps to set a password, above.











help@smugmug.com
http://assets03.desk.com/
desk
Loading
seconds ago
a minute ago
minutes ago
an hour ago
hours ago
a day ago
days ago
about
Invalid characters found
/customer/en/portal/articles/autocomplete