Help DeskUploading and Downloading › Allow guests to upload photos

Allow guests to upload photos

Updated: 11/28/2016

Got a wedding? A party? A family reunion?

With a SmugMug account, you can easily let other party-goers upload their photos to one gallery on your site, just by using a special link. Perfect for pooling together your most candid moments from your big event!

Tip: This is great for lots of people uploading lots of photos.

How It Works

Got a wedding? A party? A family reunion?

With a SmugMug account, you can easily let other party-goers upload their photos to one gallery on your site, just by using a special link. Perfect for pooling together your most candid moments from your big event!

Tip: This is great for lots of people uploading lots of photos.

How It Works

  1. Open up your Gallery Settings and scroll down to the Security & Sharing section:

  2. Type a password into the "Guest Uploading" field. Your guests will be able to see what you enter here, so just make sure it's viewer-friendly. Make sure you use alphanumeric characters only! Special characters won't work.

  3. Save your changes on the page. Your Guest Uploading key will be baked into a special link:

  4. Share that link! Anyone who visits it will see our browser-based uploader where they can drag and drop files into your gallery—and only that gallery

Anything Else to Know?

  • Your guests can still upload files to galleries locked with passwords, but they'll need to enter the viewing password before they can browse photos.
  • Your guests can upload files to galleries accessible by people you choose, but they'll need to accept your invitation to the gallery before they can browse photos.
  • Anyone with your upload link can upload files to that gallery. Be aware when you share! Or give them a deadline and change/remove the Upload Key by that date.
  • Have your guests edit their files' captions using a photo editor like Lightroom, Picasa, iPhoto, or Windows Photo Gallery. This way their words will automatically show up in the photo's caption field after upload.
  1. Open up your Gallery Settings and scroll down to the Security & Sharing section:

  2. Type a password into the "Guest Uploading" field. Your guests will be able to see what you enter here, so just make sure it's viewer-friendly. Make sure you use alphanumeric characters only! Special characters won't work.

  3. Save your changes on the page. Your Guest Uploading key will be baked into a special link:

  4. Share that link! Anyone who visits it will see our browser-based uploader where they can drag and drop files into your gallery—and only that gallery

Anything Else to Know?

  • Your guests can still upload files to galleries locked with passwords, but they'll need to enter the viewing password before they can browse photos.
  • Your guests can upload files to galleries accessible by people you choose, but they'll need to accept your invitation to the gallery before they can browse photos.
  • Anyone with your upload link can upload files to that gallery. Be aware when you share! Or give them a deadline and change/remove the Upload Key by that date.
  • Have your guests edit their files' captions using a photo editor like Lightroom, Picasa, iPhoto, or Windows Photo Gallery. This way their words will automatically show up in the photo's caption field after upload.