Can my customers mark their favorites?

Updated: Mar 27, 2014 03:47PM PDT

In your sea of galleries, make an island for each event you shoot.

Our Event Management tools help simplify browsing and buying so your visitors don't get lost. Let them view their galleries all on one page and easily tag their favorites.

Here is an archived webinar that is a great introduction of the Events feature.  
 

‚Äč



Create your event

Check out the Business tab in your Account Settings and you'll see Events under "Selling"

Clicking Manage, then New Event will take you to a page where you can enter details about the occasion. Give it a name, a short description, a date, and a location. Your clients will see this information, so make it clear and informative.

Create new Event

We'll automatically incorporate your event name into the Event URL, but you can change it to something you like better. Keep it simple and descriptive so your guests can remember the link without a breaking a sweat.

Example: A gallery name like the above example will show the Event URL of Croquet-on-the-Lawn. The link becomes: http://nickname.smugmug.com/event/Croquet-on-the-Lawn

Customize your Event Settings

After you've set up the basics, click Add to select the Galleries that pertain to the event, but don't sweat it. You can create Events in the past, present and the future, so don't be afraid to get started early. If you've got a gig next month, make the event now and ask your clients to not only save the date, but the URL, too.

Share it

After you Save your event, we'll generate a permanent link for general sharing. Find that at the bottom of this page under Other Guests.

Share Your Event

Your recipients will see the Guest Event page like a Sharegroup, meaning they get the Event details and all the galleries you selected. Click that link yourself and you can preview how the Event will look to them.

All guests viewing this general event page can see photos, buy prints, and share the event with others.

Start playing Favorites

Participants are key clients who can tag Favorites from the Event. The bride. Groom. Parents.

First, add them to your Participants and Registered Guests list. We give you space to enter a name, email addresses and notes so that you can easily identify them.

Add Key Clients

Tip: When you enter their information, we do NOT instantly generate their unique Event links. You will need to hit the Save button at the bottom of the page to "solidify" the process and update all the changes you've made to the page.

More about Participants, Registered Guests and Favorites

Publicize

Now go ahead and click the little envelope to create a handy Share message. If you want, you can also send your Participants and Guests a second email that includes the general Event link (without the option to pick or view Favorites). This allows them to easily share the event with their friends.

Share Events

The macros at the bottom are just shortcuts to save you time. You're free to modify the default wording, but copy and paste one of those macros to keep names and info consistent. You can even save your changes as a template for later use, or send a test message to yourself to see how it'll look to your guests.

Send those off and let your viewers have their fun!

Anything else I should know?

Just keep these tips in mind:

  • Communication is key. If you haven't already added a Customer Contact Email in the Me tab of your Account Settings, we suggest you do this so your clients can reach you. However, if you don't have an email entered there, we won't expose your contact information in the Share emails sent to your Participants and Registered Guests.

  • Every person in your Participants and Registered Guests list can see all of the galleries you assign to the event as well as any comments left on the images. In contrast, each person's Favorites gallery is unique and visible only to him or herself. They can see their own Favorites gallery because they are using the special links that you gave them.

  • All the Favorites galleries are Unlisted and stored under the Event Favorites category. Please do not delete or change this location, otherwise your Participants and Registered Guests can't pick Favorites!

  • Each click of a heart will collect the photo from its location into the one Favorites gallery. Don't worry: We link back to the original in the photo caption field so you (and your Participants/Guests) can always find the source.

  • If you remove a person from your Participants and Registered Guests list, their Favorites folder will still remain in your Event Favorites category. This is just in case they still want to view their selections, but you can delete the gallery if you wish.

  • Don't forget to check your Events Management page periodically to add or remove galleries and view your Participants' and Registered Guests' picks.

    FYI: Galleries added to events retain the pricing/settings from the original gallery.  Collected or smart galleries included in events will also have the pricing/settings of the original source gallery.  If you want to block the sales of photos completely, be sure to set a pricelist with no items for sale and apply it to the original source gallery.  The new galleries created by an event when a guest selects favorites will retain the settings of the source gallery.  This is important as the new galleries created by the event will show the default settings so it may appear that the protection settings etc are not applied when they automatically come from the source galleries.  

     











help@smugmug.com
http://assets03.desk.com/
desk
Loading
seconds ago
a minute ago
minutes ago
an hour ago
hours ago
a day ago
days ago
about
Invalid characters found
/customer/en/portal/articles/autocomplete