Help DeskApps › Does SmugMug have an iOS app?

Does SmugMug have an iOS app?

Updated: 11/10/2015

Yes, SmugMug does have an iOS app for iPhone and iPad, and it can be found in the Apple App Store. The app works flawlessly on iOS devices without needing to display your photos in Safari.

Log in

The first time you open the app, we'll ask if you want to log in. If you don't have an account or just want to browse without logging in, tap the Find Them link to browse photos from your photographer, friends, or family.

You can always log in later by tapping the home screen and in the lower-left corner. Logging in allows you to skip entering your viewing passwords, to view your unlisted galleries, and to view photos that have been privately shared with you.


You can view any SmugMug account and "bookmark" it on your Following screen: yours, your friends, or your favorites. Hit the little headshot icon in the lower right to go to your Following screen, then tap Find Photo Friends:

Enter the full name or nickname of the Smugger whose photos you'd like to view. If it's a match, we'll place an icon with their Bio photo on your Following screen.

Made a mistake? Tap Edit in the right corner. Then tap the Remove on the user you want to be removed.


Add as many accounts as you like simply by tapping Add! Click the thumbnail with your friend’s name to view all folders and galleries accessible by Everyone (public) on their site. Tap any folder or gallery to explore it.

Within a gallery, swipe up or down to navigate photos in the gallery. Tap any thumbnail to view it as large as your device allows, or as large as the photographer has permitted in their gallery settings.

Note: If a gallery is set with a viewing password, you must enter it to be able to see the photos inside it. Logging in will bypass this prompt only if you’re browsing your own photos.

If anyone has privately shared photos with you, you’ll see an extra navigation icon next to your home button. Tap this Shared with Me icon to view these privately shared galleries.

Guest accounts will see this Shared with Me icon and screen instead of a Home button.


You can upload everything from your mobile devices to your SmugMug galleries right through the app! (You can also upload to SmugMug from your camera roll and other apps if you have extensions enabled. Check it out!)

To get started, log in and click the upload cloud icon in the upper right.

Allow SmugMug to access your photos, then tap the photos you want to upload from your camera roll. Once you’ve selected everything, tap Next.


Select the SmugMug gallery you want to upload your images to by tapping it once (or create a new gallery by tapping New in the upper right), then tap the Upload button that appears to start your upload.

A progress bar will appear on your screen. If you choose to continue browsing while everything uploads in the background, an upload indicator icon will appear in the top right of your screen to show how many photos remain to be uploaded.

Upload from other apps

Upload photos from your camera roll and other apps directly to SmugMug! To do this, you’ll first need to enable the SmugMug extension on your iOS device.

  1. Launch your camera roll.
  2. Select the photo(s) you want to upload.
  3. Tap the square share icon at the bottom left of the screen.

  4. Swipe left on the top row of sharing options and tap More.

  5. Scroll until you see “SmugMug” and toggle the switch On. Then tap Done.

  6. You should now see SmugMug in the top row of your sharing options. Tap it to upload your photos directly to SmugMug!

Repeat the above process within other apps (including your text messages!) to upload from them directly to your SmugMug galleries. Note that each app might share a bit differently—for example, having a Send to App option instead of the share icon.

Note: The original app’s developer must allow extensions in order for SmugMug to appear in More options. If you don’t see SmugMug in the list, contact the developer of the app you’re using to request they enable extensions from other developers.

View galleries offline

Want to be able to show off your portfolio on the go? Or share those family photos when you aren't near wifi? Now you can mark any gallery for viewing offline, so the galleries you select will always be available.

To make a gallery available offline, navigate to the gallery by tapping on the gallery name. Near the top, below your gallery’s name, tap the toggle for Available Offline to enable offline viewing.

Save and share

In addition to viewing galleries while offline, you can also share galleries and photos (if you're the owner and are signed in) to Twitter, Facebook, and more through the app.

To share, navigate to the gallery or photo you want to share, then tap the share icon in the lower right-hand corner. Then select the sharing option you want to use and follow the onscreen instructions.

Watch videos

Movies are right in your hands. Tap the play button to load the video, and while it's playing, tap again to bring up the timeline where you can fast forward, rewind, or pause.

You can enlarge to full-screen view, too. Hit the two little arrows at the top-right corner. This will fit the video to the full screen, or you can tap again to watch it in its native size.

Note: You can double-tap anywhere to zoom in/zoom out, too.

To close the full-screen view, hit the Done button in the upper left. You can return to the gallery by tapping anywhere in the window to bring up the top menu bar.

About the menu bar

The star icon that appears at the bottom of any SmugMug site, folder, or gallery will allow you to add that site, folder, or gallery to your app's Favorites screen.

You'll see a green star icon if the page you're looking at has already been added to your Favorites screen. Tap the star again to remove it as a favorite.

To see if you have download rights, navigate to a photo or video you want to save and tap the share icon. You'll see an option to Save to Camera Roll if you're logged in and have permission to download photos.


Access your settings any time by tapping the gear icon in the top-left corner.

Your settings allow you to do the following:

  • See how much storage your photos are using if you’ve saved any galleries for offline viewing.
  • Remove galleries from offline viewing to free up storage space.
  • Log out of your account.
  • Enable syncing of your photos when connected to Wi-Fi only.
  • Clear your cache.
  • See which version of the app you’re currently using.