Help DeskApps › Does SmugMug have an iOS app?

Does SmugMug have an iOS app?

Updated: 10/09/2014

Yes, we do! And it can be found in the Apple App Store. For users who've updated their SmugMug site, the app works flawlessly on iOS devices without needing to display your photos in Safari.

The first time you open the app, we'll ask if you want to log in. If you don't have an account or just want to browse as a guest, tap the browse button.  

You can always log in later by going to the home screen and tapping the user icon in the upper right corner. Logging in allows you to skip entering your viewing passwords and allows you to see your unlisted galleries.

If this is your first time logging in after an install or update, you'll be asked to authorize the app on your device.
 

Browse

You can view any SmugMug account and "bookmark" it on your home screen: yours, your friends, or your favorites.  Hit the little headshot icon in the upper right to Add Someone:

Enter the nickname of the Smugger you'd like to view. If it's a match, we'll place an icon with their Bio photo on your Home screen.

Made a mistake? Tap Edit in the right corner. Then tap the X on the User or Favorite Gallery you want to be removed from your home screen.

Add as many accounts as you like! Click the thumbnail with their name below it to view all folders accessible by Everyone (public) on their site. Tap any folder to explore it.

Within a gallery, swipe left or right to navigate different pages of the gallery. Tap any thumbnail to view it as large as your device allows, or as large as the photographer has permitted in their gallery settings.

Tip: If you can't see your photos in passworded or unlisted galleries, External Linking in your gallery may be off. Check your gallery settings by using a regular web browser to log in to your site.

Note: If a gallery is set with a viewing password, you must enter it to be able to see the photos inside it. Logging in will bypass this prompt because we know they're your own photos.

Upload

Now you can upload everything from your mobile devices to your SmugMug galleries right through the app!

To get started, click the upload icon in the upper right.

Tap the folder that contains gallery you want to upload to (or create a new gallery by tapping the + icon).

Your Camera Roll gallery will appear, allowing you to select which images you want to upload. Once you’ve selected all your images, tap “Next” to confirm.

Select the correct gallery you want to upload your images to by tapping it once, then tap the checkmark that appears to start your upload.

A progress bar will appear at the bottom of your screen as your upload progresses, and it’ll notify you once your upload is complete.

View Galleries Offline

Want to be able to show off your portfolio on the go? Or share those family photos when you aren't near wifi? Now you can mark any gallery for viewing offline, so the galleries you select will always be available.

To make a gallery available offline, navigate to the gallery by tapping on the gallery name. In the upper right-hand corner, tap the toggle for "Available Offline" to enable offline viewing.

Save and Share

In addition to viewing galleries while offline, you can also download photos to your camera roll (if you're the owner and are signed in) and share them to Twitter, Facebook, and more through the app. (At this time, the iPad version can only share via email and slideshow.)

To share, navigate to the gallery or photo you want to share, then tap the share icon in the upper right-hand corner. Then select the sharing option you want to use and follow the onscreen instructions.

About the Menu Bar

The outline "star" icon that appears at the top left of any SmugMug site, folder, or gallery will allow you to add that site, folder, or gallery to your app's Home screen.

 

You'll see a green "star" icon if the page you're looking at has already been added to your Home screen. Tap the star again to remove it as a favorite.  

To see if you have download rights, navigate to a photo you want to save and tap the Share icon in the upper right on the iPad. You'll see an option to "Save to Camera Roll" if you're logged in.

On the iPhone, you'll see a download icon in the upper-right corner.

For videos:

Watch Videos

Movies are right in your hands. Tap the Play button to load the video, and while it's playing, tap again to bring up the timeline where you can fast forward, rewind, or pause. 

You can enlarge to full-screen view, too. Hit the two little arrows at the bottom right corner, and then the white "zoom" box at the upper right. This will fit the video to the full screen, or you can tap again to watch it in its native size.

Note: You can double tap anywhere to zoom in/zoom out, too.

To close the full-screen view, hit the "Done" button in the upper left. You can return to the gallery by tapping anywhere in the window to bring up the top menu bar.